So I’ve had a positive interview and things may be looking up.

Well I’m still pessimistic about getting a job but I had an upbeat positive interview, I was very negative about it prior to it occurring – I really thought I was being served bullshit by the recruiter, but the CEO proved it wasn’t bullshit by reflecting back what exactly what had been said.

What I have to be cautious about now is pinning my heart on my sleeve in the hope that it plays out as I want.

So what do I want, the work from home aspect is crucial, I’m even prepared to cut my salary expectations for that one taking a two hour lunch break mid afternoon to pick up the sprogs from school – awesome. Being able to work non regular hours – major benefit, so much better than the £20k bonuses I got working in city brokerages, that’s just money, this is time and as anyone whose done project cost analysis accounting knows its time or money.

So I get to see the boss and his technologist next week for coffee after a meetup, then it would be meet the board and other C’s after that.

So I have today, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, to shine. I know what they want, I can revise and be specific and be a can-do rock star. So that’s good, it gives me a boost, if I don’t get further I feel more positive.

Being a nuclear family, living in an enormous, diverse, multicultural city that’s fucking expensive, child care is a cost crippler. Put it like this my net annual is a good nanny/tutors gross salary (good quality childcare and education support – you know a London living wage of £35k) – which means I never see the kids and I have nothing of my own from all the work I’ll have done, as both of us can earn way over the national average one of us can afford to be at home. Except that doesn’t work out when neither of us have a job and even though we have no debt (other than the electric bill) we have no savings as a safety net.

DW’s on a job interview this afternoon too, so it’s not as though we are sitting on our arses doing fuck all, but DW wanted to stop the stress of being the main  earned and take on the stress of being a SAHP.

There is a lot that I’ve learned during this period, and a shit load of advice to give my kids once they are grown up.

2 thoughts on “So I’ve had a positive interview and things may be looking up.

Comments are closed.