I’m really not getting social anxiety or more to the point I haven’t got it

Social Anxiety (intense nervousness) and self-consciousness arise from a fear of being closely watched, judged, and criticised by others.

Its the last part of that sentence above that annoys me because if we added one word and removed another it would massively change the concept for the better. First, remove the word fear. Then add the word positively, at the end. So we would then have this:

being closely watched, judged, and criticised by others

positively.

So, maybe we could work towards Social Serenity, a feeling of being closely, judged and criticised watched by others in a positive fashion.

Wouldn’t that be a marvellous thing to have. Mostly no one notices other people now-a-days and its often our own minds that are convincing us that people are talking about us. Most people don’t give a shit and quickly forget that you had funny hair or outlandish clothes. Most people don’t notice the old guy sitting in a doorway alone, in the cold with no food or home.

Most people don’t notice the elderly lady  living alone eating every three days and wrapping herself in old newspapers to keep warm. So why do you thing they notice you because your having a struggle coming to terms with your own issues. Its you projecting your own anxiety at yourself onto those around you and thinking that they actually give enough of a shit to criticise and those who do criticise are doing it to hide their own demons by making a song and dance about you.

You don’t need to be strong to solve this, just be yourself by being yourself and be with yourself. If someone is being in your face about it, think to yourself, soon it will be over then I can be myself again with out this.

I know anxiety is a difficult thing I’ve been clinically treated for it, I realise that many will be offended by what I’ve said but all I can wish for is that you find a way to manage it. Alcohol, illicit drug and prescription drugs aren’t the cure, you have the cure with in yourself and I hope you find it.

