A place for everything and everything in its place: Tidy up doesn’t mean push under the sofa

image

This is the pile of shit generated in 20 minuted by two unsupervised kids and when I asked for a tidy up, it was all pushed under the sofa.

Aaaaaaaargh! I know what the problem is is it’s differing role models, I’m a neat freak and somehow I was taught to tidy up after myself. I wish I knew how it was done, because I can’t seem to achieve it.

My wife is just as messy as the kids, if something misses the bin, meh! just leave it. Things just can’t be put away, her makeup for example, is left scattered everywhere. She complains that it was unfair in her childhood that her parents would throw her stuff away. I’m not bloody surprised, I’m tempted every time I have to tidy up swathes of litter and detritus to throw what ever toy is left lying about away with the junk.

Does anyone have any advice on how to encourage adults and children to be tidy?

