I want this so much more than a Macbook pro even though it has 8gb ram

The Razor Blade

image

It’s so sexy, I so want it, I’m not a mac fanboi even though I started writing software on an Apple II in 1979 when I was 13. I quit using macs in 2001 when I installed Yellowdog linux on my G3 as internet apps and enterprise systems were all NT or nix.

The last few years I’ve become even more dismissive of Apple’s walled garden. Microsoft is so much more open source now than Apple. As the windows and linux world interoperate more and more, apple remains less so.

It tickles me when I read tech blogs rattling on about the latest tips and tricks for erlang or node showing screen shots from macbooks.

Anyway, why would I want a Razor more than a Macbook, I like the look, it reminds me of the description of Hotblack Desiato’s space ship from Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.

So black it couldn’t be seen.

One of the things that amazes DW about my order of magnitude greater geekiness is that I’ve not watched all of the Star Wars movies. I watched the first one in 1977 (three months after she was born), but by the time the second one came out, I’d discovered programming and sex – I lost my cherry at 13 about three months after my birthday, two things that would totally keep a teen age boy out of a cinema.

So for me now, the Razor sends shivers down my spine, it’s so black, not meh! grey (which is worse than beige), it has toxic green backlighting. I would feel so smug sitting in Starbuck knocking out a bit of interesting code and running multiple lvx containers cos I would have pulled widows, installed #! and be sipping my quad espresso psycho coffee, playing my codecock is bigger than your codecock with all the mac fanbois.

Codecockery is when a developer thinks he’s an excellent programmer but mistakes smugness and arrogance for knowledge and expertise.

So there you have it, why I would buy a Razor over a macbook

