Charles R. Swindoll said, “Life is 10 percent what happens to you and 90 percent how you react to it.”

Charles R. Swindoll said, “Life is 10 percent what happens to you and 90 percent how you react to it.”

Ok Charlie, you and your god answer me this;

Bankruptcy.
Nervous breakdown and suicide attempt
Near Terminal cancer.
Homelessness.
Disabled child.

The bankruptcy came about because a client, kept avoiding paying me, until all the liquidity was gone and the assets had to pay ofc debt and couldn’t cover it. Pulled out of it got things back on track.

The NB and suicide, came about because of a demanding high stress city brokerage job at the time of the Lehman’s crash, coupled with a wife with post partum depression that manifested itself as alcohol abuse, stress at home and stress at work broke me.

Followed by stage 3c breast cancer, my wife obviously.

Now we’re facing eviction and and my eldest daughter has been diagnosed with a disability.

You’d expect god to play a bit nice, but no our Rabbi pointed out if we didn’t pay the fees we weren’t welcome. I was indifferent to religion and participate for my wife and children, but now no matter what, what ever any god botherer could say, consider me now re-born into atheism.

Some families  wouldn’t survive one, most families don’t even get to experience what we have, so your saying that it’s ninety percent our fault, thank you, fuck you and I hope one day you will welcome atheism into your heart when you realise the worthlessness of a deity.

I was hoping for inspiration when I came across that quote,  well consider me inspired only if to prove I can get through all of this without islamo-christo-judean twaddle.

2 thoughts on “Charles R. Swindoll said, “Life is 10 percent what happens to you and 90 percent how you react to it.”

  1. You are very right that many couldn’t have even survived one of those things which proves the strength that you have within you to overcome. No need for a religion or god that doesn’t exist. It’s been your strength that has carried you through. You didn’t break because you’re still here fighting. It’s that strength that will get you and those you love most through this storm to a better place.

    • That’s what I’m hoping, or more to the point forget the hope, not giving up and and duty to bring them all through it.

Comments are closed.